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Louisiana Emergency Rental Assistance Program 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 
You can visit LARentHelp.com to complete the first application step or dial 2-1-1 to speak with 
a representative for assistance in completing the form.  You can also text the key word 
LaRentHelp to 898-211 for information or to access the application form on your mobile phone. 

 
 
ELIGIBILITY FOR EMERGENCY RENTAL ASSISTANCE 

 
Q: What are the eligibility requirements for the Louisiana Emergency Rental 
Assistance Program? 
 
Eligibility is as follows: 

• Applicant must be a Louisiana resident. 
• Household income at the time of application must be at or below 30% of the Area 

Median Income (AMI).  
• Applicants must prove a loss or reduction of income as a result of COVID-19. 

 
Q: What are the income requirements? 
Applicants’ household income at the time of application must be at or below 30% of the 
Area Median Income (AMI). Income guidelines are as follows: 
 

1 Person    $13,500 5 Person    $20,850 
2 Person    $15,450 6 Person    $22,400 
3 Person    $17,350 7 Person    $23,900 
4 Person    $19,300 8 Person    $25,450 
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Q:  I receive unemployment benefits, should this be included in my income total for 
my application?  
 
Yes, regular unemployment is considered income. The enhanced CARES Act $600 per 
week unemployment benefits are not considered income, but it should be identified on your 
application. The one-time $1,200 emergency payment from the federal government is not 
considered income, nor should it be identified on your application. 
 
Please be sure to include the following source of income in your income total: 

• Unemployment Compensation (include regular unemployment, Pandemic 
Unemployment Assistance and Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation) 

• Wages, salary, overtime, hazard pay, commissions, fees, tips, bonuses (before payroll 
deductions) 

• Net income from business and self-employment (include income from independent 
contractors, Gig economy jobs such as Etsy, Amazon, eBay, Uber, Lyft, Instacart, 
GrubHub, etc.) 

• Interest, dividends, and other net income of any kind from real or personal property 
(include rental income) 

• Social Security (include disability/Supplemental; include gross amount prior to any 
Medicare premiums) 

• Retirement/Pension/Insurance policy/Annuities 
• Disability or Death Benefits (disability compensation) 
• Worker’s Compensation and Severance pay 
• Welfare Assistance Payments (Temporary Assistance to Needy Families) 
• Regular Pay, special pay, and housing allowance for the Armed Forces (exclude military 

hazard pay) 
• Veterans Administration (VA) Benefits (exclude deferred disability benefits) 
• Adoption Assistance Payments (exclude amount in excess of $480) 
• Alimony or Child Support (include only amounts expected) 
• Re-occurring cash gifts from private/nonprofit/charity or friends/family who will not reside 

in the unit 
• Other (please describe) 
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You don’t have to include these items in your income total: 
• Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (Stimulus payment of up to 

$1,200 per person and $500 per child) 
• Military Hazard Pay 
• Veterans Administration (VA) Deferred Disability Benefits 
• Adoption Assistance Payments for Amounts in Excess of $480 

 
Q:  If I receive COVID-19 unemployment benefits, can I still qualify for the emergency 
rental assistance program? 
Yes, if you have experienced a loss or decrease in income due to COVID-19 and receive 
unemployment benefits, you may apply for emergency rental assistance.  
 
Q:  Can I get help with my mortgage? 
No, you must be a renter to receive assistance from the Louisiana Emergency Rental 
Assistance Program. 
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ABOUT THE APPLICATION PROCESS 
 
Q:  What are the steps? 

1. Complete the intake form, which is the first step of the application process at 
LaRenthelp.com or by dialing 211. 

2. You will be contacted within 30 days of submitting the intake form. A representative 
from the Louisiana Housing Corporation will contact all applicants who receive 
preliminary eligibility via phone to continue the application process. Ineligible 
applicants will receive notice via the mail. 

3. The tenant and landlord will need to submit additional documentation to determine 
final eligibility. 

4. If your application is approved, your rental payment(s) will be sent directly to your 
landlord or property owner.  

 
Q:  What are the ways to start the application process? 
There are three options to choose from to start the application process:  
 1.  Complete the first application step at www.larenthelp.com 
 2.  Text the keyword LaRentHelp to 898-211 and a link will be sent to you  
 3.  Dial 211 and a specialist will help you complete the first step in the application 
 
Q: How are applications processed? 
Applicants must initiate the first step in the application process at LaRentHelp.com, texting 
the keyword LaRentHelp to 898-211 to receive a link, or by dialing 2-1-1 to speak to a 
representative for assistance. The Louisiana Housing Corporation will contact applicants for 
the second step where they will be asked to submit required documents. After all required 
documents are submitted, eligibility will be determined by the Louisiana Housing 
Corporation. All applicants will be notified about the status of their application using the 
address provided in the first application step.    
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Q:  What documents will I need to submit to complete the application for assistance? 
Once contacted by the Louisiana Housing Corporation to complete the second step in the 
application process, applicants will be asked to submit the following documents in order for 
their applications to be considered: 

• Government-issued photo ID (driver’s license or a state ID). 
• An active rental/lease agreement. 
• A written statement that describes how the household’s financial situation has 

changed (i.e. lost employment or reduced income either temporarily or permanently). 
• Additional documentation will be required. For a complete list of all required 

documentation, visit larenthelp.com. 
 
Q: Is there a deadline to submit my application? 
No, there is no set deadline for application submissions; however, applications will be 
accepted until all program funds are fully expended. Funds are limited. 

 
Q: What if my address on my ID does not match the address of my current 
residence? 
Please submit an alternative proof of residency such as a utility bill that includes your name 
and current address. 
 
Q: How long will it take for me to be contacted about my application? 
After the first step in the application is submitted online or with 211 assistance, the 
Louisiana Housing Corporation anticipates that contact will be made within 30 days. 
 
Q: How will I know that the first step in the application was received?  
You will receive an email confirmation using the email you have provided in your first 
application. If no email was provided, you will receive confirmation via the mail. 
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Q: When can I expect to receive an eligibility determination? 
The Louisiana Housing Corporation anticipates that notification of eligibility will be sent to 
you within 14 days after you complete the application steps and submit all required 
documentation for the application.  
 
Q: How will I receive notice of eligibility?  
You will receive a letter via mail from the Louisiana Housing Corporation using the address 
provided in your first application step.  
 
Q: Will my landlord also receive notice of my eligibility? 
Yes, the Louisiana Housing Corporation will contact your landlord to discuss next steps 
once preliminary eligibility has been determined. 
 
Q: I am concerned about being evicted before I get assistance from this program. 
What can I do to avoid eviction while I wait for each step of the application process?  
 
It would be best to discuss your particular situation with an attorney to determine the 
options available to you given your specific circumstances. This advice may be provided at 
no cost to you. Please contact your regional legal services provider for more information. 
 

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services Acadiana Legal Services 
Statewide COVID-19 Hotline (844) 244-7871 Alexandria (318) 443-7281 

New Orleans (504) 529-1000 x223 Lafayette (337) 237-4320 

Hammond Area/Northshore (985) 345-2130 Monroe (318) 699-0889 

Houma (985) 851-5687 Natchitoches (318) 352-7220 

Baton Rouge (318) 699-0889 Shreveport (318) 222-7186 
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RECEIVING THE EMERGENCY RENTAL ASSISTANCE ONCE AWARDED 
 

Q: When can I expect my rent to be paid? 
If you qualify for this assistance, your rent will be paid within 30 days of receipt of all      
required documents from the tenant and landlord. 

 
Q: Will payments be made to me or my landlord or property owner? 

 Payments for your rent will be paid directly to the landlord or property owner. 
 

Q: Is there a limit to the amount of rental assistance that will be provided? 
Assistance amounts are calculated once an application is processed and approved.  

  
Q: How much assistance is available for each recipient? 

Approved applicants will receive one to three payments to cover a portion of their rent. 
Assistance is paid directly to the landlord or property owner.  

 
Q: My rent isn’t past due now, but what if I can’t pay in the future? 

Any household that has experienced financial hardship as a result of the pandemic is 
able to apply and will be responsible for providing documentation that demonstrates 
financial hardship. 

 
Q: Will payments be made to me or my landlord or property owner? 

Payments for your rent will be paid directly to the landlord or property owner. 
 


