



ATTENTION OF:

All Louisiana Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) Providers NOTICE: LHP-2021-02

ISSUED: April 8, 2021

This notice remains in effect until

May 31, 2021

SUBJECT: Extension of Notice: LHP-2020-02 Temporary Expansion of the Louisiana LIHEAP Crisis Definition

On October 28, 2020, the Louisiana Housing Corporation (LHC) released Notice: LHP-2020-02 allowing for the temporary expansion of the Louisiana LIHEAP crisis definition as a response to the national emergency caused by the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). As of the issuance date of this Notice, Louisiana is operating in Phase 3 of Resilient Louisiana and unpaid client obligations to both heating and cooling venders across Louisiana continue to remain at high levels.

Due to the LIHEAP American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 funding release still pending, LHC is extending the applicability of Notice: LHP-2020-02, which expired on December 31, 2020, and Notice: LHP-2021-01, which expired on March 31, 2021.

The temporary crisis definition will remain in effect from October 28, 2020 to May 31, 2021.

This Notice continues to temporarily expand the Louisiana definition of a LIHEAP crisis to include Past Due financial obligations to utility vendors in addition to disconnects. All requirements from Notice: LHP-2020-02 and Notice LHP-2020-02 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) remain in effect.

Intake

When a client presents with a shut-off or disconnect notice, a Subgrantee must still provide assistance within 48 hours for non-life threatening crisis and within 18 hours for life-threatening crisis.

When a client presents with a Past Due amount only and no disconnect notice, Subgrantees must provide

LHP-2021-02



LHC.LA.GOV

assistance on a first come, first serve basis in accordance with existing intake/scheduling polices for noncrisis appointments.

Benefit Determination and Eligibility

Crisis benefits must <u>still</u> be applied wherever the crisis exists, whether it is to either a heating or cooling vendor.

Clients are eligible for <u>one</u> benefit from each allocation. Clients are <u>still</u> only eligible for one crisis benefit in a 12-month period. Past Due amounts may only be considered for clients who are assisted between October 28, 2020 and May 31, 2021.

The temporary expanded definition of crisis allows the following items to be included in the calculation:

- Past Due amounts
- The amount of the disconnect notice
- All costs to connect or reconnect services, except non-energy related charges

The calculated benefit must not exceed \$475 for FY2020 or \$600 for FY2021. All previous LIHEAP income eligibility requirements still apply.

Documentation

All previous LIHEAP documentation requirements <u>still</u> apply. A utility statement showing a Past Due (or installment for Past Due) amount may substitute a Shut-Off/Disconnect Notice or Final Bill and proof of new account.

This Notice hereby supplements the LIHEAP Service Delivery Guide for the timeframe defined.

If you have any questions regarding this notice, please contact the LHC Energy Assistance Department at E4@lhc.la.gov or Lauren Holmes at lhartley@lhc.la.gov.

Louisiana Housing Corporation (LHC) Energy Assistance

LHP-2021-02