Menu

COVID-19: Rental Assistance

    RENTAL ASSISTANCE UPDATES RELATED TO COVID-19

    As circumstances from COVID-19 continue to evolve, LHC’s priority is ensuring the health and safety of our staff, customers, and partners while continuing to fulfill our mission of investing in affordable housing and economic development.

    Consistent with guidance issued by government and health officials, and to do our part to help prevent the virus from spreading, LHC is encouraging a culture of social distancing.

    Until further notice, LHC has asked our employees to work remotely and to restrict all business travel. Our organization has invested in technology that allows us to maintain business continuity despite these changes. While you may see us rescheduling meetings and trainings to occur as conference calls or webinars, our team remains committed to ensuring that we are accessible and responsive to your needs.

    While we adapt as appropriate to the changing environment, LHC remains steadfast in our commitment to our work. More information for our customers and partners is below.

    what to expect

    • The Rental Assistance staff will remain fully operational and certain business aspects will continue as normal.
      • New Admission and Reexamination processing timelines will not be impacted.
      • Housing Assistance Payment contract processing timelines will not be impacted.
      • Payment processing timelines will not be impacted.

    Changes to business practices

      • Physical Inspections have been suspended until further notice.
      • Phone calls and voice messages will be returned within 48 hours.
      • Meetings for the foreseeable future have moved to conference calls or webinars.

     

    contact information

    Program Manager
    Chawuna Parker:  (225) 763-8809,
    cparker@lhc.la.gov

    Housing Supervisor
    Loki Ellis: (225) 763-8810, lellis@lhc.la.gov
    Please direct all questions regarding landlord subsidy payments.

    IT Liaison & Reporting
    Jaquincy Nelson: (225) 763-8813, jnelson@lhc.la.gov
    Please direct all questions regarding the rent café website

    Contract Administration
    Amy York: (225) 763-8817, ayork@lhc.la.gov

    Contract Administration & Inspections
    Kafayat Folami: (225)763-8821, kAlli@lhc.la.gov

    Participant Annual/Interim Certifications & Terminations

    • Patricia Hampton: (225) 763-8811, phampton@lhc.la.gov
      • Capital (Baton Rouge & surrounding areas)
      • Jefferson – (Gretna, Metairie, and surrounding areas)
      • Florida - (St. Tammany, Hammond, Covington and surrounding areas)
      • Region III (South Central)- (Houma, Thibodaux, St. James, Laplace and surrounding areas)
      • Region IV (Lafayette & surrounding areas)
      • Region V (Lake Charles & surrounding areas)
    • Tonika Jackson Smart: (225) 763-8816, tjackson@lhc.la.gov
      • Region I - (Orleans and St. Bernard Parish)

    New Admissions and Unit Transfers
    Jalynn Myers: (225) 763-8819, jmyers@lhc.la.gov

     

    ADDITIONAL RESOURCES & INFORMATION

    PLEASE NOTE:
    Unit Referrals are handled by the Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals (LDH)
    Contact: Christian Jones email: christian.jones@LA.GOV