Housing Needs Assessment

Understanding the socioeconomic and housing conditions in Louisiana

2019 Louisiana housing needs assessment

The 2019 Housing Needs Assessment for Louisiana has been prepared through an analysis of the housing needs for the eight regional labor market areas (RLMAs). A separate analysis has been devoted to each RLMA. All key measures, tables, and graphics are consistent across the eight different regions, but the analysis looks at the Census tract-level at the scale of the RLMA.

Region 1: New Orleans

Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and St. Tammany Parish

Learn More →

region 2: Baton Rouge

Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, Washington, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana Parish

Learn More →

region 3: Houma-thibodaux

Assumption, Lafourche, and Terrebonne Parish

Learn More →

region 4: Lafayette

Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion Parish

Learn More →

region 5: lake charles

Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jefferson Davis Parish

Learn More →

region 6: alexandria

Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Rapides, Vernon, and Winn Parish

Learn More →

region 7: shreveport-bossier

Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, and Webster Parish

Learn More →

region 8: Monroe

Caldwell, East Caroll, Franklin, Jackson, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union, and West Caroll Parish

Learn More →



Use, a free resource to find a rental home that fits your needs and budget.

Start Your Search